Awareness Rooms Review

Deep inside I have always loved escape games, especially the ones that are a bit unusual. Most of my highschool years were spent finding point-and-click escape games. I’ve played some really difficult ones and some really unique ones too. So having the chance to try out Awareness Rooms – a cute escape game – I was super excited and ready to challenge myself.

Maybe I can move it...

Awareness Rooms comes with a unique mechanism where you must gain awareness of your surroundings before you can proceed with solving the puzzles. Now this may sound confusing, but its honestly the opposite. The easiest way to learn about the world around you is to look at it and interact with it.

You find yourself in a room, with little understanding of your surroundings. Most of what you can identify are various shapes, but their details or purpose are a mystery to you. As you slowly click around, you will learn about your surroundings, and the mysteries they hold. Personally I had a lot of “oh that’s what it is” moments when I faced something I didn’t understand, which really left a pleasant feeling within me. Like a child, I felt like I was learning about the world all over again.

Not quite aware of the answer yet

Now Awareness Rooms may have some puzzles that will stump you or leave you walking in circles for a long time, but there’s a certain charm to this game that has me wanting more. Even after reaching the end, I still find that there is a part of me that really desires seeing this game extended or perhaps a sequel.

Graphics: 7/10
Soundtrack: 6/10
Gameplay: 9/10
Replayability: 4/10
Overall: 7/10

Hmmm what do I do here?

Visit the Developer’s Website (Japanese)

Buy it on Playism (DRM free + Steam Key)

Buy it on Steam

 

Till next time x

Leave a Reply

